Contact

Call or email us with questions

Emergency response 

Dial 911

PRIMARY CONTACT

Levi O’Loughlin, associate director & university biosafety officer
Research Safety Program
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Mike Kluzik, director
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-9553
mkluzik@wsu.edu

Biosafety officials

Associate director & university biosafety officer

Levi O’Loughlin
Office of Research Assurances
Research Safety Program
Neill Hall 428, Pullman, WA 99164-3143
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


Assistant biosafety officer

Ryan Schwager, assistant biosafety officer, hazardous materials and dangerous goods shipping specialist
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-4462
rschwager@wsu.edu


Institutional Biosafety Committee (IBC)

ibc@wsu.edu


Soni Hartwig, IBC coordinator
509-335-7183
ibc@wsu.edu


Karen Sanguinet, IBC chair
509-335-3662
karen.sanguinet@wsu.edu

Biohazardous waste

Management

PRIMARY CONTACT

Levi O’Loughlin, associate director & university biosafety officer
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Ryan Schwager, assistant biosafety officer, hazardous materials and dangerous goods shipping specialist
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-4462
rschwager@wsu.edu


Pickup (operations and logistics)

Rick Finch
Facilities Services
509-335-3288
finchr@wsu.edu

Animal concerns

Animal care & animal lab facilities

PRIMARY CONTACT

Nina Woodford, campus veterinarian, director
Office of the Campus Veterinarian
509-335-6246
nwoodford@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Levi O’Loughlin, associate director & university biosafety officer
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


Animal related biosafety

PRIMARY CONTACT

Levi O’Loughlin, associate director & university biosafety officer
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Ryan Schwager, assistant biosafety officer, hazardous materials and dangerous goods shipping specialist
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-4462
rschwager@wsu.edu

Biosafety cabinets & lab inspections

Biosafety cabinet information (including certification)

PRIMARY CONTACT

Levi O’Loughlin, associate director & university biosafety officer
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Ryan Schwager, assistant biosafety officer, hazardous materials and dangerous goods shipping specialist 
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-4462
rschwager@wsu.edu


Biosafety lab inspections, by campus

Pullman, Puyallup, Mt. Vernon, Puyallup, Prosser, Wenatchee, other

Levi O’Loughlin, assistant director & university biosafety officer
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


Spokane

Megan Chastain, director 
Research Laboratories, Health Sciences Spokane
509-358-7541
megan.chastain@wsu.edu


Tri-Cities

Scott Tomren, EHS coordinator
Environmental Health & Safety
509-372-7163
stomren@wsu.edu


Vancouver

Joe Price, industrial hygienist
Environmental Health & Safety
360-546-9706
jj.price@wsu.edu

Health & safety concerns

Blood-borne pathogens

PRIMARY CONTACT

Levi O’Loughlin, associate director & university biosafety officer
Office of Research Assurances
509-335-1585
levi.oloughlin@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Sarah Greer, industrial hygienist
Environmental Health and Safety
509-335-4360
sarah.greer@wsu.edu


Public health concerns and laboratory safety

INFORMATION LINE

Environmental Health & Safety
509-335-3041


PRIMARY CONTACT

Jason Sampson, director
Environmental Health & Safety
509-335-9564
sampsonj@wsu.edu


SECONDARY CONTACT

Shawn Ringo, director
Environmental Health & Safety
509-335-5251
sringo@wsu.edu


Radiation safety

INFORMATION LINE
509-335-7183


SECONDARY CONTACT

Rey McGehee, radiation safety officer
509-335-6763
rmcgehee@wsu.edu

Shipping of biohazardous materials

ORA HAZMAT shipping

509-432-3869
ora.hazmatshipping@wsu.edu